Lossless music download

Voces8 - Winter (2016) [Hi-Res]

Classic, HD Tracks & Vinyl | Author: SELMER | 1-07-2018, 14:04
Voces8 - Winter (2016) [Hi-Res]
Artist: Voces8
Title Of Album: Winter
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Decca Music Group
Country: UK
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*tracks, booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless [96kHz/24bit]
Time: 01:05:14
Full Size: 1.13 GB


01. For Now I Am Winter
02. Es ist ein Ros entsprungen
03. Winter
04. Balulalow
05. Nunc Dimittis

06. Plainscape I
07. Plainscape II
08. Plainscape III
09. Come Wander With Me
10. In The Bleak Midwinter
11. The Fruits Of Silence

12. Nunc Dimittis
13. The Darkness Is No Darkness
14. The Snow It Melts The Soonest

This seasonal release is only occasionally connected with Christmas, and it's notable and, probably for many listeners, desirable for that reason alone. The subject is winter itself, as seen in stark Nordic landscapes and reflected, presumably, in the music composed within them. That often means the Baltic countries, where holy minimalism rules these days. The Estonian giant of the style, Arvo Part, is here, but a bigger presence is Latvia's Peteris Vasks, whose music is becoming more widely known. The English ensemble Voces8, in fact, has pointed to his music as the inspiration for this collection. So start by sampling the aptly titled Plainscapes, where the choir is accompanied by violin and cello. Compared with Part, the music is not so affectless, but it has the same kind of clean restraint. Minimalist composers are usually grouped together on recordings, but part of the aim of Voces8 here seems to be to create a program that links Baltic minimalism to other sparse modern styles. The results are interesting if rather subtle: what you hold in your hands or on your screen is an hour-plus of slow-moving music of homogeneous texture and sound, but the colors do shift as the program proceeds. There is one world premiere, Rebecca Dale's Winter, and most of the pieces aren't terribly common. The lack of texts is a minus, discouraging deeper engagement with the music and giving the impression that the album is intended as background music, when there's actually more to it than that. -- James Manheim

Download Voces8 - Winter (2016) [Hi-Res]

   Comments: 0 | Views: 598 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Latvian Radio Choir & Sigvards Klava - Arvo Part: Da pacem Domine (2016)
  • VA - The Silence of Being: The Music of Arvo Part (2008)
  • Rudolf Werthen / I Fiamminghi, The Orchestra of Flanders - Music of Peteris ...
  • Voces 8 - Christmas (2012) [HDTracks]
  • Arvo Part - In Principio (2009)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?