Lossless music download

Del Sol String Quartet / Stephen Kent - Peter Sculthorpe: The Complete String Quartets with Didjeridu (2014) [24bit/96kHz]

Classic, HD Tracks & Vinyl | Author: valechek | 5-07-2018, 23:47
Del Sol String Quartet / Stephen Kent - Peter Sculthorpe: The Complete String Quartets with Didjeridu (2014) [24bit/96kHz]
Artist: Del Sol String Quartet / Stephen Kent
Title Of Album: Peter Sculthorpe: The Complete String Quartets with Didjeridu
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Sono Luminus
Country: US
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*tracks, cover, d.booklet)
Bitrate: Lossless [24bit/96kHz]
Time: 01:22:02 min
Full Size: 1,48 Gb

Australian composer Peter Sculthorpe, who was brought onto the international radar by the Kronos Quartet some years ago, wrote 18 string quartets. The earlier ones were influenced by Indonesian and other southeast Asian music, but over time he delved deeper into Australian aboriginal traditions. Of the 18 quartets, four include a didjeridu, but earlier performances have not always included it. The didjeridu is not treated soloistically but instead underlies the tonal, rather meditative music of the quartet, placing it against a sonic backdrop with historical and environmental resonances. Some of the movements include evocations of birdsong and more abstract natural phenomena, and the central movements of the final String Quartet No. 18 are ominously titled "A Land Singing," "A Dying Land," and "A Lost Land." The pieces are unassuming and do not differ dramatically from each other in style, but there's a deepening of spirit as they proceed that's hard to pin down. An intriguing, adventurous project from the Del Sol Quartet and the Sono Luminus label, recommended for those interested in the intersection between classical traditions and music of the world.


1 String Quartet No. 12 “From Ubirr” [12:22]
String Quartet No. 14 “Quamby”
2 I. Prelude [3:24]
3 II. In the Valley [3:49]
4 III. On High Hills [4:45]
5 IV. At Quamby Bluff [8:00]
String Quartet No. 16
6 I. Loneliness [4:10]
7 II. Anger [3:58]
8 III. Yearning [5:49]
9 IV. Trauma [4:18]
10 V. Freedom [5:30]
String Quartet No. 18
11 I. Prelude [2:04]
12 II. A Land Singing [4:27]
13 III. A Dying Land [7:32]
14 IV. A Lost Land [6:43]
15 V. Postlude [5:20]

   Comments: 0 | Views: 620 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Cuarteto Casals - Inventions: Ludwig van Beethoven - Complete String Quarte ...
  • Auryn Quartet - Joseph Haydn: String Quartets [The Auryn Series Collection] ...
  • The Glazunov Quartet - Kabalevsky: String quartets Nos. 1 & 2 (1994)
  • Stamic Quartet - Sofia Gubaidulina: Complete String Quartets (2012)
  • Ying Quartet - Schumann: String Quartets (2014) [HDtracks]

  • Services
    What is your favorite Music?