Lossless music download

Frederic Desenclos - Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Motets pour le Grand Dauphin (2009)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 13-07-2018, 07:09
Frederic Desenclos - Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Motets pour le Grand Dauphin (2009)
Artist: Frederic Desenclos
Title Of Album: Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Motets pour le Grand Dauphin
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Alpha Production
Country: France
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (*image + .cue, log, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 01:07:26
Full Size: 353 MB


01. Precatio pro filio Regis, H. 166 [8:10]
02. Marchand Fugue sur les anches [1:55]
03. Sola vivebat in antris, H. 373 [7:21]
04. Marchand Fond d'orgue [1:47]
05. Supplicatio pro defunctis, H. 328 [11:33]
06. Marchand Tierce en taille [2:45]
07. Quemadmodum desiderat cervus, H. 174 [13:05]
08. O Salutaris hostia, H. 248 [3:26]
09. Marchand Fugue [1:41]
10. Gratiarum actiones pro restitua delphini salute, H. 326 [15:43]

Although Marc-Antoine Charpentier never held an official position at the French court, he wrote a significant amount of service music for the chapel of Louis de France, the Grand Dauphin, the son of Louis XIV, while he was employed by the de Guise family. This album gathers six motets written for the Dauphin, as well as four organ works by Charpentier's contemporary Louis Marchand. Charpentier's work is notable for the elegance, grace, variety, and expressiveness of his vocal writing. These motets are also distinctive for their instrumentation. Several are scored for three flutes in addition to voices and continuo, and the use of a bass flute provides a tone color not usually associated with vocal music of this period, and it is darkly haunting. Others use a small chamber ensemble, always applied with great delicacy and sensitivity to maintaining transparent textures so that the vocal lines are easily comprehensible. Supplicatio pro defunctis ad beatam Virginem is an especially lovely and deeply felt example of the composer's lyrical text setting. Ensemble Pierre Robert performs with elegance, but also with passionate fervor. Soprano Anne Magouet, mezzo-soprano Sarah Breton, and bass Edwin Crossley-Mercer sing with light, pure tone that's well suited to this repertoire. Frederic Desenclos, who directs the ensemble, plays the Marchand organ works, which stylistically mesh with the Charpentier, with directness and simplicity. The sound is clean and well balanced. -- Stephen Eddins

Download Frederic Desenclos - Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Motets pour le Grand Dauphin (2009)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 691 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Ensemble Gradiva - Charpentier: Lecons de tenebres & Raga de la nuit avance ...
  • Paul O'Dette & Stephen Stubbs - Charpentier: Acteon (2010)
  • Olivier Vernet & Ensemble...In Ore Mel... - Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Pour ...
  • Isabelle Desrochers & Frederic Desenclos - Sebastien De Brossard: Petits Mo ...
  • Stephan MacLeod, Arte dei Suonatori, Alexis Kossenko - Marc-Antoine Charpen ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?