Lossless music download

Connie Evingson - Let It Be Jazz: Connie Evingson Sings the Beatles (2003)

Jazz | Author: valechek | 13-07-2018, 18:03
Connie Evingson - Let It Be Jazz: Connie Evingson Sings the Beatles (2003)
Artist: Connie Evingson
Title Of Album: Let It Be Jazz: Connie Evingson Sings the Beatles
Year Of Release: 2003
Label: Summit
Country: US
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz
Quality: FLAC (*image+.cue, log, covers)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 66 min
Full Size: 411 mb

Connie Evingson isn't the first person to provide a vocal jazz tribute to the Beatles; over the years, everyone from Sarah Vaughan to Czech singer Peter Lipa has interpreted the John Lennon/Paul McCartney songbook. But Let It Be Jazz, the Minneapolis resident's fifth album, is among the more creatively successful – and it may very well be the most intriguing thing in her catalog (at least as of 2003).
In the past, Evingson has paid tribute to Peggy Lee – a logical choice for a jazz vocalist – and on this 2003 release, she makes 13 Beatles classics sound equally logical in a jazz setting. Evingson doesn't get into anything by George Harrison or Ringo Starr on Let It Be Jazz; she embraces Lennon/McCartney compositions exclusively, and quite a few pleasant surprises occur – surprises that range from a reference to Miles Davis' "All Blues" on "Blackbird" to a Brazilian-minded interpretation of "From Me to You." Meanwhile, "Can't Buy Me Love" and "Got to Get You into My Life" are two examples of songs that Evingson takes out of British Invasion rock/power pop and places in a jazz-noir setting. And thankfully, she is doing exactly the sort of thing jazz singers are supposed to do – that is, putting her own individualistic spin on something that is familiar (or perhaps not so familiar; Evingson also interprets some gems that weren't major hit singles for the Beatles – gems you might not be familiar with if you haven't acquired all of their albums).
Let It Be Jazz is not only a demonstration of Evingson's skills as a jazz improviser; it also shows how durable the Fab Four's material continued to be 33 years after their breakup.

01. Blackbird 06:42
02. Wait 04:38
03. The Night Before 06:09
04. Can't Buy Me Love 05:06
05. From Me To You 04:11
06. Fixing a Hole 03:29
07. When I'm 64 04:37
08. I'm Looking Through You 04:46
09. For No One 04:15
10. I Will 04:26
11. Oh! Darling 04:44
12. Got To Get You Into My Life 05:31
13. Good Day Sunshine 03:53
14. Bonus Track: When I'm 64, version 2 04:04

Download from AusFile / Takefile Premium

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1085 |
    Related Releases:     
  • John Di Martino's Romantic Jazz Trio - The Beatles In Jazz (2010) [2017 SA ...
  • Connie Francis - Cocktail Connie: Connie Francis Sings And Swings Lounge Cl ...
  • Connie Evingson - Sweet Happy Life (2012)
  • The Beatles - Rarities (US)[Ebbett SHAL-12060] 2001/1980
  • Connie Evingson - Fever: A Tribute to Peggy Lee (1999)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?