Lossless music download

Jakob Lindberg - Nocturnal (2018)[24bit/192kHz]

Classic, HD Tracks & Vinyl | Author: MusicBox | 21-07-2018, 17:33
Jakob Lindberg - Nocturnal (2018)[24bit/192kHz]Artist: Jakob Lindberg
Title Of Album: Nocturnal
Year Of Release: 2018
Label (Catalog#): BIS Records
Country: Sweden
Genre: Classical, Lute
Quality: FLAC (*tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless [24bit/192kHz]
Time: 01:23:17
Full Size: 2.91 Gb

This is a bouquet of works for lute by Elizabethan and Jacobean composers, in the expert hands of Jakob Lindberg; the more famous are by Dowland, Byrd and Holborne, and the rarer works are by John Johnson, Daniel Bacheler and Edward Collard, without forgetting the most prolific writer of all time, "Anonymous". And so the track-list is already original enough; but Lindberg's big idea is to perform, as the central pivot of the album Nocturnal by Benjamin Britten, written in 1963 for the guitarist Julian Bream, but on the lute. With the authorisation of the Britten Foundation, of course, and making use of the composer's preparatory manuscripts; and given how much Britten loved the lute, we can easily imagine how much he would have applauded this translation from guitar to lute. And it is true that the more velvety, less brilliant, sound of the lute offers a new reading of the work, underlining both its modern and deliberately archaic sides. And so it is an excellent idea to juxtapose the 16th and 17th centuries with the 20th, given that Britten has already provided us such a beautiful bridge between them. © SM/Qobuz

Jakob Lindberg - Nocturnal (2018)[24bit/192kHz]

01. The Honeysuckle (1:47)
02. Muy Linda (1:23)
03. The Night Watch (1:38)
04. The Countess Of Pembroke's Paradise (4:21)
05. The Fairy Round (1:28)
06. Go From My Window (3:21)
07. Hugh Aston's Ground (4:52)
08. Pavan (5:05)
09. Mrs. Anne Grene Her Leaves Be Green (5:00)
10. The Flowers Of The Forest (1:07)
11. Remember Me At Evening (1:22)
12. The English Nightingale (3:00)
13. Lullaby (4:02)
14. Nocturnal (18:05)
15. A Dream (2:44)
16. A Fancy (2:42)
17. Orlando Sleepeth (1:16)
18. Galliard To Lachrimae (3:04)
19. Mr. Dowland's Midnight (0:57)
20. Farewell (5:31)
21. Passingmeasures Pavan (2:58)
22. Carman's Whistle (2:24)
23. Good Night And Good Rest (5:12)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 630 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Jakob Lindberg - Lindberg: Seven Suites of Swedish Folk Tunes (2002)
  • Nigel North - John Dowland: Complete Lute Music (2009)
  • Jakob Lindberg - A Lute by Sixtus Rauwolf: French and German Baroque Music ...
  • John Dowland - Come Again, Sweet Love (Alfred Deller) (1996)
  • Jakob Lindberg - J.S. Bach: Lute Music (1994)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?