Lossless music download

Carey Harris & Michael Orr - Spread Love 1976 [Japanese Remastered Edition] (2015)

Jazz, Pop, Japan Editions | Author: artmuss | 23-07-2018, 16:21
Carey Harris & Michael Orr - Spread Love 1976 [Japanese Remastered Edition] (2015)Artist: Carey Harris & Michael Orr
Title Of Album: Spread Love
Year Of Release: 1976/2015
Label (Catalog#): P-Vine Records [PCD-24432]
Country: United States
Genre: Disco, Funk, Soul
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 42:26
Full Size: 262 mb

In 1975 Orr and Harris started to record one of the best unheard projects in recording history their album Spread love . Around that time Orr was asked by the Oberlin Obsevatory in Ohio to do a presentation on music production. After the presentation he heard a singer who gave him goose bumps he had never experienced before. Her name was Bernadine Mitchell. She was eventually to provide the perfect vocal finish to one of the key songs Orr had written for the album Feelings a superb mid-tempo ballad. The opening song Ecstasy, Fantasy, Dreamland just about sums up what pressure these guys were under, to put their positive, soulful message across. Here I Go Through These Changes is a modern soul classic and an auto biographical song and was descriptive of Orr s ability to let go of something he loved dearly, even knowing it was going to put him through change after change. The song was later covered by soul legend Johnny Taylor and released as a single. The first single to support the album was the title track Spread love a superb, percussive led modern dancer, sounding unbelievably fresh and up to date considering it was recorded 40 years ago. The skipping dance beat of the jazz influenced instrumental Piece of Mind wouldn t be out of place at todays Soul/Jazz clubs. Jazz is a recurring factor throughout the whole of this album, just listen to You Opened My Eyes to the World . But unfortunately it turned out that without a big company to back up the release they received hardly any airplay. Disco became very prominent and their sound did not fit the format that was dominating R&B stations across America. Though radio stations in Detroit and Washington were very supportive and they still succeeded to sell 5000 copies. However the record made its way to Europe. After many years Michael still receives requests from U.K., Sweden, Germany even from Japan and many other Euro countries for original copies of his album. Spread love was truly released ahead of its time. Up to now only collectors have enjoyed this vintage piece. On record collector websites the record is for sale for amounts of over 100 and 200 Euro. But now re-issue label PTG Records is proud to have re-released on CD the Orr and Harris classic Spread love . This reissue is digitally remastered form original mastertape.


1. Ecstasy, Fantasy & Dreamland (03:32)
2. Let Me Be With You Awhile (04:14)
3. Here I Go (Through These Changes Again) (03:10)
4. Feelings (05:08)
5. A Piece Of Mine (05:36)
6. Spread Love (05:23)
7. Keep My Fire Burning (05:28)
8. You Opened My Eyes To The World (06:44)
9. Afterwhile (03:05)



:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1056 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Juicy - Spread The Love [1987] [Expanded & Remastered] (2012)
  • Juicy - Spread The Love (1987) [Remastered 2007]
  • Spread Eagle - Spread Eagle (1990)
  • Down To The Bone - Spread The Word: Album III (2000)
  • Down To The Bone - Spread Love Like Wildfire (2005)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?