Lossless music download

Jean-Philippe Collard - Faure: Piano Music complete (2006)

Classic | Author: SELMER | 25-07-2018, 15:48
Jean-Philippe Collard - Faure: Piano Music complete (2006)
Artist: Jean-Philippe Collard
Title Of Album: Faure: Piano Music complete
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: Brilliant Classics
Country: France
Genre: Classical
Quality: APE (*tracks, artwork)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 04:49:17
Full Size: 875 MB


Disc 1
1. Nocturnes 1-11

Disc 2
1. Nocturnes 12-13
2. Theme Et Variations, Op. 73
3. Ballade Op. 19
4. Preludes, Op. 103

Disc 3
1. Barcarolles
2. Impromptus

Disc 4
1. 4 Valses-caprices
2. 8 Pieces Breves, Op. 84
3. Mazurka, Op. 32
4. 3 Romances Sans Paroles
5. Dolly Suite - Jean-Philippe Collard/Bruno Rigutto
6. Souvenirs De Bayreuth - Jean-Philippe Collard/Bruno Rigutto

Between 1973 and 1983, Jean-Philippe Collard recorded the complete piano music of Gabriel Faure for French EMI. Although not picked up for American distribution by EMI's Angel label, it was eagerly snapped up by American collectors hungry for complete recordings of what is generally agreed to be the finest Romantic piano music written by a French composer. Most were more than satisfied with Collard's soulful performances, although some expressed doubts regarding his technique and his interpretations. Reissued in 2006 by Brilliant, Collard's performances remain as soulful -- his Nocturnes sing and sigh, his Barcarolles slip and glide, his Ballade soars and roars -- but his technique and interpretations are perhaps more doubtful. In difficult passages, Collard has a tendency to drop notes and over pedal in compensation. More questionable are Collard's interpretations. Are the Nocturnes supposed to sound so nervous? Are the Impromptus supposed to sound so wayward? Is the Dolly Suite supposed to sound so arch? While anyone who loves Faure's piano music will have to hear these discs, they should compare Collard's performances with the great performances of the past by Marguerite Long and Alfred Cortot, pianists whose technique was variable by later standards but whose interpretations were unimpeachable by any standards. Brilliant's minimal remastering retains the clarity and depth of French EMI's stereo originals. -- James Leonard

Download Jean-Philippe Collard - Faure: Piano Music complete (2006)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 545 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Franz Schubert - The Collector's Edition [50 CD Box Set] (2007)
  • Martin Jones - Jean Roger-Ducasse: The Complete Piano Music (2015)
  • VA - Les Virtuoses De L'impossible [2CD] (2009)
  • Jean-Philippe Collard - Chopin: Preludes & Piano Sonata No. 2 (2013) [HDTra ...
  • Gerard Lesne, Bruno Angelini, Jean-Philippe Viret, Ramon Lopez - Colors (20 ...

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?