Lossless music download

VA - Colour My World: Songs of Tony Hatch (2014)

Rock, Pop | Author: artmuss | 5-08-2018, 18:44
VA - Colour My World: Songs of Tony Hatch (2014)Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Colour My World: Songs of Tony Hatch
Year Of Release: 2014
Label (Catalog#): Ace [CDCHD 1399]
Country: International
Genre: Pop Rock, Easy Listening
Quality: FLAC (*tracks,cue,log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 67:23
Full Size: 371 mb

For a time, Tony Hatch defined British pop -- not the underground, not the vanguard, but the savvy, swinging sound of the go-go '60s in the U.K., a splashy sound that could appeal to both the young and the old. His greatest muse was Petula Clark, and her hits "Downtown," "Colour My World," and "A Sign of the Times" epitomize Hatch's gifts: propulsive rhythms that don't rock too hard dressed in the fanciest, frilliest studio trickery and delivered by a polite, charismatic singer who never seemed dangerous. Ace's 2014 compilation Colour My World: The Songs of Tony Hatch celebrates his heyday, offering 23 cuts from the '60s plus two '70s instrumentals from the Tony Hatch Orchestra. As comprehensive as this is, it doesn't have every noteworthy artist Hatch produced -- his singles with David Bowie, commercial duds all, are absent -- but most of the hits are here, including four hits from Clark, several from Jackie Trent (who was also Hatch's wife), the Searchers' "Sugar and Spice," Chris Montez's "Call Me," and the Vogues' "You're the One." Occasionally, Colour My World illustrates how Hatch could play it straight, stripping away the stylish rock & roll accouterments to wander down the middle of the road with Jack Jones, Matt Monro, and Bobby Rydell, but having these cuts interspersed with the livelier, teen-oriented hits helps this compilation feel like a robust portrait of mainstream pop: it's possible to hear what the mainstream sounded like, and also to hear how Hatch expanded that definition with his rhythms and rich orchestrations. (Also, in this context, it's plain to see how Scott Walker, represented here by "Joanna," came closer to MOR than rock at the start of his solo career.)


01. Colour My World - Petula Clark
02. A Step In The Right Direction - The Montanas
03. You're The One - The Vogues
04. Call Me - Chris Montez
05. That's How It Goes - The Breakaways
06. A Sign Of The Times - Petula Clark
07. Sounds Of The 70s - Tony Hatch & The Satin Brass
08. I Know A Place - Sarah Vaughan
09. Heart - The Remains
10. You've Got To Be Loved - The Montanas
11. Love Is Me, Love Is You - Connie Francis
12. Who Am I - Petula Clark
13. Love Found A Way To My Heart - The Sands Of Time
14. Where Are You Now - Jackie Trent
15. If You Ever Leave Me - Jack Jones
16. Joanna - Scott Walker
17. Lonely Without You - Julie Grant
18. Downtown - Petula Clark
19. 7.10 From Suburbia - Jackie Trent
20. Man Alive - The Tony Hatch Sound
21. I Love The Little Things - Matt Monro
22. Look For A Star - Garry Mills
23. Forget Him - Bobby Rydell
24. Sugar And Spice - The Searchers
25. Sportsnight - The Tony Hatch Orchestra



:: MusicMuss ::

   Comments: 0 | Views: 643 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Coney Hatch - Best Of Three (1992)
  • Coney Hatch - Coney Hatch (1982) [1996]
  • Coney Hatch - Coney Hatch (1982)
  • Coney Hatch - Four (2013)
  • VA - It's So Fine: Pye Girls Are Go! (2005)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?