Lossless music download

Voodoo Funk Project - Deep In The Cut (2006)

Jazz | Author: SELMER | 18-12-2016, 21:26
Voodoo Funk Project - Deep In The Cut (2006)
Artist: Voodoo Funk Project
Title Of Album: Deep In The Cut
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: 215 Records
Country: USA
Genre: Acid Jazz / Funk
Quality: FLAC (tracks + .cue, log, scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 54:27 min
Full Size: 350 MB


01. Black Magic [05:50]
02. Keep Your Face To The Sun [05:44]
03. This Is Where? [06:23]
04. Merrucca [05:26]
05. The Witchdoctor [05:23]
06. Love Potion [05:26]
07. Memento [05:28]
08. Midnite On The Corner [06:07]
09. Trick Or Treat [05:15]
10. Zombie Dance [03:20]


Tony Remy - electric guitar, vocoder;
Ed Jones - flute, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone;
Mike Gorman - Fender Rhodes piano, Clavinet, mini-Moog synthesizer;
Julian Crampton - electric bass;
Geoff Wilkinson - drum programming, percussion programming.

The first 30 seconds of Voodoo Funk Project's debut album will send listeners scurrying to the liner notes looking for the recording date: "Black Magic" is Blackbyrds-style funky soul-jazz, right down to the vintage synth whooshes that lazily ripple across the sound field and the introduction of an extremely 1970s-vintage clavinet part about two minutes in. The rest of the album maintains this retro vibe, unsurprising since the brain behind this U.K. foursome is producer and programmer Geoff Wilkinson, formerly half of acid jazz pioneers Us3. Unlike that dance-oriented group, there's no desire on the part of Voodoo Funk Project to update their sound with turntables or guest rappers: the groove is the thing, pure and simple, and keyboardist Mike Gorman and bassist Julian Crampton do a remarkably good job of splitting the difference between backing reedsman Ed Jones' solos and staying front and center on their own, as exemplified by the interplay between the four musicians on the genuinely excellent "This Is Where?" Those who blanch at the merest idea of jazz-funk won't have their minds changed by Deep in the Cut, but this is essential new music for fans of the form. -- Stewart Mason ~ AllMusic.com

Download Voodoo Funk Project - Deep In The Cut (2006)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1753 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Groove Collective - It's All In Your Mind (2001)
  • Incognito - Adventures In Black Sunshine (2004)
  • Holland Tunnel Project - What Hip Hop Left Behind (1997) [Soundtrack]
  • Herbie Hancock - Man Child (1975)
  • Directions In Groove - Dig Deeper (1994)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?