Lossless music download

Charles Mackerras & Czech Philharmonic Orchestra - Dvorak: Symphonic Poems (2010)

Classic | Author: artmuss | 16-10-2016, 16:36
Charles Mackerras & Czech Philharmonic Orchestra - Dvorak: Symphonic Poems (2010)Artist: Charles Mackerras & Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
Title Of Album: Dvorak: Symphonic Poems
Year Of Release: 2010
Label (Catalog#): Supraphon [SU40122]
Country: International
Genre: Classical Music
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 1:19:45
Full Size: 285 mb
WebSite: Album Preview

Dvo??k composed his Symphonic Poems shortly after the American triumph of his “New World Symphony” andafter completing his beautiful final string quartets (Opp. 105 and 106). The first three poems were first performed in1896 in London, while The Wild Dove was premiered in March 1898 in Brno by Leo? Jan??ek.

The recordings on this CD are interpreted by the Czech Philharmonic, conducted by Sir Charles Mackerras, a paramount musician and connoisseur and champion of Czech music. The poems round off his legacy in Dvo??k’s symphonic oeuvre, from which he has recorded for Supraphon, for example, Symphonies Nos. 6, 8 and 9, Slavonic Dances and Symphonic Variations.

Sir Charles’s performance of Dvo??k’s works interweaves the splendid Talich tradition and profound knowledge of the composer’s work. The live recording of The Noon Witch and The Water Goblin reflects the warmly poignant atmosphere of the conductor’s parting with the Prague audience.

The triumphant recording of Martin?’s Three Fragments from the opera Juliette (Gramophone Award 2009) was made at the same valedictory concert.

The studio recording of The Wild Dove is the final culmination of the long-term collaboration between Sir Charles and the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra.


01. Symphonic Poem, Op. 107 - "The Water Goblin": The Water Goblin. Symphonic Poem, Op. 107 (20:27)
02. Symphonic Poem, Op. 108 - "The Noon Witch": The Noon Witch. Symphonic Poem, Op. 108 (13:58)
03. Symphonic Poem, Op. 109 - "The Golden Spinning-Wheel": The Golden Spinning-Wheel. Symphonic Poem, Op. 109 (25:45)
04. Symphonic Poem, Op. 110 - "The Wild Dove": The Wild Dove. Symphonic Poem, Op. 110 (19:35)

   Comments: 0 | Views: 1031 |
    Related Releases:     
  • Berliner Philharmoniker, Simon Rattle - Dvorak: Tone Poems (2005) [2014] [H ...
  • Antal Dorati, London Symphony Orchestra - Igor Stravinsky: The Firebird (19 ...
  • The London Philharmonic Orchestra - Us and Them: Symphonic Pink Floyd (1995 ...
  • Antonin Dvorak - Poèmes symphoniques (2010)
  • Jorn — Symphonic (2013)

  • Information

    Members of Guests cannot leave comments.
    What is your favorite Music?